Curious Minds Forscherpreis (Curious Minds Research Award)

In cooperation with manager magazin, we honor rising stars in the German scientific community who show significant potential for technological and industrial innovation.

About the Award

The Curious Minds Forscherpreis (Curious Minds Research Award) not only emphasizes and honors scientific excellence but also an entrepreneurial spirit. It provides a platform to strengthen and improve the dialogue between academia and industry.

The award encompasses executive jury members of the most innovative and important sectors of the German industry. The selected awardees are honored at a joint ceremony with Hall of Fame der deutschen Forschung with the first one held on October 30, 2018 in Darmstadt.

The award categories alternate annually: Starting in 2018, the categories were "Life Science" and "Digitization & Robotics", and in 2019 it will be "Materials & Active Substances" and "Mobility & Energy".

2018 Awardees

In 2018 the Curious Minds Forscherpreis was presented for the first time. The awardee in the category “Life Science” was Barbara Grüner from the West German Cancer Center of Essen University Hospital Germany and the awardee in the category “Digitization & Robotics” was Sascha Fahl, Professor for Computer Science and head of the usable security and privacy research group at the Ruhr-University in Bochum. Grüner was awarded for her development of “new screening techniques for active ingredient combinations in cancer therapy”. Fahl was honored for his work on “how human factors impact topics such as data privacy and IT security”.

Life Science - Barbara Grüner

Grüner started her academic education in molecular medicine in Nuremberg, was a postdoctoral fellow at Stanford University in California and is now an Emmy Noether Junior Research Group Leader.

Digitization & Robotics - Sascha Fahl

Fahl started his academic education in Computer Science in Marburg, Germany and earned his doctorate at the same university. Now he is a Professor for Computer Science at the Ruhr-University in Bochum. In 2018 he was awarded the highly prestigious “Heinz Maier Leibnitz Prize”.

List of Award Winners

Year Category Name University Distinguished project
2018 Life Science Barbara Grüner University Hospital Essen Screening techniques for active ingredient combinations in cancer therapy
  Digitization & Robotics Sascha Fahl Ruhr-University Bochum Impact of human factors on data privacy and IT security

Key Facts

  • 4 alternating award categories:
    • Life Science
    • Digitization & Robotics
    • Materials & Active Substances
    • Mobility & Energy
  • Cycle: Annual
  • Number of awardees: 2 per year
  • Award Ceremony: Joint ceremony with Hall of Fame der deutschen Forschung

Prof. Dr. Klaus Griesar

Head of Science Relations

Almut Schoffers

Associate Director Science Relations


You have accessed, but for users from your part of the world, we originally designed the following web presence

Let's go

Share Disclaimer

By sharing this content, you are consenting to share your data to this social media provider. More information are available in our Privacy Statement