Hall of Fame

An overview of the pioneering scientists in the virtual Hall of Fame.

The concept behind the Hall of Fame

Since 2009, the Hall of Fame der deutschen Forschung has been distinguishing exceptionally successful people from the worlds of academic and industrial research. They are experts who were curious and courageous enough to enter into unknown territory and solve problems of our time. The Hall of Fame is not for rock stars or basketball players, but rather men and women who are making outstanding contributions to the further development of research and securing the future of Germany as a business location. Normally, the laureates of the Hall of Fame der deutschen Forschung have made at least one major contribution that has revolutionized an entire industry or else their work has transformed individual companies into global market leaders.


These forward-thinking scientists, innovators and lateral thinkers are the extraordinary members of the Hall of Fame der deutschen Forschung.

  • Özlem Türeci

    2021 Awardee
    Development of the first Covid-19 mRNA vaccine

  • Uğur Şahin

    2021 Awardee
    Development of the first Covid-19 mRNA vaccine

  • Emmanuelle Charpentier

    2020 Awardee
    Genetic Engineering, Microbiology
  • Karsten Danzmann

    2019 Awardee
    Laser Interferometry & Gravity Wave
  • Franz-Ulrich Hartl

    2018 Awardee
    Cellular Biochemistry
  • Ernst-Ludwig Winnacker

    2017 Awardee
    Biochemistry, Gene and Bio Technology, Research Organization
  • August-Wilhelm Scheer

    2017 Awardee
    Information Systems
  • Franz Pischinger

    2016 Awardee
    Mechanical Engineering, Combustion Engine
  • Jens Frahm

    2016 Awardee
  • Manfred Weck

    2015 Awardee
    Machine Tools
  • Gerhard Ertl

    2015 Awardee
    Surface Chemistry, Catalytic
  • Ludwig Pohl ✝

    2014 Awardee
    Chemistry, Liquid Crystals

  • Stefan Hell

    2014 Awardee
  • Klaus von Klitzing

    2013 Awardee
    Solid State Physics
  • Hans-Jörg Bullinger

    2013 Awardee
    Research Organization
  • Axel Ullrich

    2012 Awardee
  • Chr. Nüsslein-Volhard

    2012 Awardee
    Development Biology
  • Joachim Milberg

    2011 Awardee
    Mechanical Engineering
  • Theodor Hänsch

    2011 Awardee
    Quantum Optics
  • Karl Ziegler ✝

    2010 Awardee
    Organic Chemistry
  • Günter Spur ✝

    2010 Awardee
    Automation Technology
  • Harald zur Hausen

    2010 Awardee
  • Manfred Eigen ✝

    2010 Awardee
    Biophysical Chemistry
  • Feodor Lynen ✝

    2009 Awardee
  • Werner Heisenberg ✝

    2009 Awardee
    Quantum Mechanics
  • Peter Grünberg ✝

    2009 Awardee
    Solid State Physics, Magnetism

  • Karlheinz Brandenburg

    2009 Awardee
    Digital Media Technology

How laureates are identified and chosen

Inductions into the Hall of Fame der deutschen Forschung are made in accordance with a two-stage selection process.

The first step is to define the scientifically excellent achievements of relevance to the further technological development of the German economy. A Board of Trustees of internationally renowned researchers suggests candidates who have rendered outstanding services to this effect. The presidents of three internationally renowned research organizations are represented on this Board of Trustees.

In a second selection step, an independent jury of top executives from German industry evaluates the utility and commercial potential of the scientist’s life's work. The jury then awards points to determine the researcher who will then be inducted into the Hall of Fame der deutschen Forschung as a laureate. 

Board of Trustees “Interdisciplinary”

  • Reimund Neugebauer
    President of the Fraunhofer Society
  • Dieter Spath
    President of Acatech, the German National Academy of Science and Engineering
  • Martin Stratmann
    President of the Max Planck Society

Board of Trustees "Specialists"

  • Barbara Albert
    Professor for Chemistry at TU Darmstadt University
  • Lutz Eckstein
    University of Institute for Automotive Engineering at RWTH Aachen University
  • Ursula Gather
    Former President of TU Dortmund University and Professor for Mathematical Statistics and Industrial Applications
  • Holger Hanselka
    President Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
  • Uwe Clausen
    Director of the Fraunhofer Institute Material Flow and Logistics
  • Horst Domdey
    Innovation Center Martinsried
  • Anton Grabmaier
    Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Microelectronic Circuits and Systems 
  • Bernhard Schölkopf
    Director at the Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems
  • Andreas Tünnermann
    Director of the Fraunhofer Institute of Applied Optics and Precision Engineering
  • Johann-Dietrich Wörner
    Director General of the European Space Agency ESA


  • Ingmar Hoerr
    Co-Founder CureVac AG, Tübingen
  • Roland Busch
    Member of the Managing Board Siemens AG
  • Lars Hinrichs
    CEO Cinco Capital GmbH, founder of Xing SE
  • Markus Schäfer
    Executive Board Daimler AG
  • Sabine Jeschke
    Professor of mechanical engineering RWTH Aachen
  • Peter Leibinger
    CTO Trumpf GmbH + Co. KG
  • Martin Noé
    Chief Editor manager magazin
  • Belén Garijo
    Chair of the Executive Board and CEO of Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany