Bader Award for Chemistry Innovation

This award celebrates the next generation of leaders in chemistry research.

About the Award


Established in 2005 as the Alfred R. Bader Award for Student Innovation, this award continues the legacy of Alfred R. Bader, co-founder of Aldrich Chemical Company. Following a series of mergers, this company transitioned into Sigma-Aldrich, which now a part of Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany. Bader’s contributions were instrumental in our evolution into the vibrant global science and technology company we are today.

Eligibility: 3rd year graduate students; please refer to the Terms & Conditions

Winners: 3 winners in total, one per region – Americas, APAC, EMEA

Prize: $5,000 each

Application Deadline: July 31, 2024

Winner Announcement: August 30, 2024

Chemistry Innovation Symposium: Winners present their research October 29, 2024

How does it work?


Share how you’re advancing the frontiers of chemistry by applying here:

  • Create an account, complete the online registration form and accept the Terms & Conditions
  • Submit your CV and a project description in approx. 1,000 words  

For more information, please contact

For technical issues with the submission platform, please contact:




Year Name University
2023 Shivaani Gandhi Princeton University
  Jonas Goebel Ruhr Universität Bochum
2021 Isabelle Leibler Princeton University
  Mauro Mato ICIQ Institute of Chemical Research at Catalonia
  Rachel Knapp UCLA
  Rui Zhang University of Chicago
2019 Michael Crocker Vanderbilt University
  Lucas Hernandez University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
  Joseph Dennis MIT
  Samantha Green The Scripps Research Institute
2018 Jake Ludwig University of Michigan
  Gabriel J. Lovinger Boston College
  Tim Gatzenmeier Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung, Mülheim an der Ruhr
  Hiroki Sato University of Texas at Austin
2017 Thomas Andrew McTeague (grand prize) Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  Robynne K. Neff University of Texas at San Antonio
  Jennifer Keiko Matsui University of Pennsylvania
  Keita Tanaka Scripps Research Institute
2016 Anthony Grillo University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign
  Xiaoshen Ma Yale University
  Matthew Nielson Princeton University
  Julian West Princeton University
  Chi Zhang Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  Raktim Roy Yale University
2015 Nian Liu University of Chicago
  Chengliang Zhu Georgia State University
  Hai Dao Scripps Research Institute
  Anton Toutov California Institute of Technology
  Mingshou Zeng Yale University
  David Kamber University of California - Irvine
2014 Jian He Scripps Research Institute
  Han Xiao Scripps Research Institute
  Sandra King Yale University
  Alison Wendlandt Univerisity of Wisconsin - Madison
  Rana Kashif Khan Boston College
  Sandra DePorter Colorado State University
  Christopher Rasik Indiana University
  Eric Welin Princeton University

Honoring innovation in chemistry

Opportunities for graduate students

Are you a trailblazer in the world of science, with a passion for innovation and a vision of a more sustainable future? ​ By bringing together the brightest young minds in chemistry, we hope to spark new ideas and inspire visionaries to continue pushing the boundaries of what’s possible in science. ​


  1. Bader Award
  2. Innovation Cup
  3. Compound Challenge
  4. Curious Conference