MilliporeSigma Announces $3,000 Grand Prize Winner of Alfred R. Bader Award for Student Innovation

MilliporeSigma recognized four graduate students for their research and innovations in synthetic organic chemistry as part of the Alfred R. Bader Student Chemistry Symposium in Darmstadt, Germany, on Sep 27.

02 Oct 2018 | Burlington, Massachusetts, United States of America
  • Four graduate student chemists awarded for innovation insynthetic organic chemistry
  • Tim Gatzenmeier, Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung,selected for grand prize

Burlington, Massachusetts, October 2, 2018 — MilliporeSigma recognized four graduate students for their research and innovations in synthetic organic chemistry as part of the Alfred R. Bader Student Chemistry Symposium in Darmstadt, Germany, on September 27. Students presented their research to an audience of company staff and guests and a panel of judges selected Tim Gatzenmeier from the Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung, Mulheim, Germany, for the $3,000 grand prize based on his research in asymmetric enantioselective organocatalysis.

“As a longstanding leader and collaborator in the chemistry space, MilliporeSigma always looks forward to learning from and acknowledging the research of these young scientists,” said Udit Batra, CEO, MilliporeSigma. “What is especially exciting is witnessing collaborative problem solving and curiosity in action that are driving discoveries around the world.”

Winners of $1,000 prizes were:

  • Gabriel Lovinger; Boston College, Conjunctive Cross-Coupling: Development and Exploration of New Reactions
  • Jacob Ludwig; University of Michigan, Catalytic Carbonyl Olefin Metathesis
  • Hiroki Sato; University of Texas at Austin, Development of new cycloaddition reactions of diols and their applications: bridge between synthetic chemistry and material science

This year’s finalists presented projects about synthetic methodologies and reactions for organic synthesis, a field ultimately focused on the creation of synthetic molecules for new drugs, performance materials and agricultural products.

The Alfred R. Bader Award for Student Innovation competition was open to advanced graduate students in synthetic organic chemistry from around the world and recognizes young chemists whose work is expected to accelerate progress in chemistry. The contest theme this year was the development of instrumentation broadly applicable to synthetic organic chemistry and the reactive use of current reagents, catalysts and ligands in methodology or total synthesis projects. The award is named for Sigma-Aldrich co-founder Alfred R. Bader.

For more than a decade, MilliporeSigma has developed partnerships with academic chemists and their students in recognition of innovative chemistry through philanthropic contributions to the field.


For more information, please contact Karen Tiano

Follow MilliporeSigma on Twitter @MilliporeSigma, on Facebook @MilliporeSigma and on LinkedIn.

All Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany news releases are distributed by email at the same time they become available on the EMD Group website. In case you are a resident of the U.S. or Canada please go to to register again for your online subscription of this service as our newly introduced geo-targeting requires new links in the email. You may later change your selection or discontinue this service.

About the Bader Awards

As a young chemistry graduate student, Alfred R. Bader valued service and selection. It was these ideals on which he cofounded the Aldrich Chemical Company in 1951. Bader sought to save research chemists time by providing quality standardized chemicals. Soon after cofounding Aldrich, Bader fostered global relationships with small chemical suppliers and his ever-innovative customers to grow his catalogue and company. The result was fast success and the development of one of the best-known chemical catalogs. Bader’s commitment to collaboration with scientists, cutting-edge products, and outstanding quality endures in the dedication of current employees and outreach activities like the Alfred R. Bader Award for Student Innovation, now in its 14th year. Over the years the prize amounts and application criteria have varied, but the awards have always recognized the work of up-and-coming chemists with big ideas.

About the Life Science Business of Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany

The Life Science business of Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany, which operates as MilliporeSigma in the U.S. and Canada, has 20,000 employees and 60 manufacturing sites worldwide, with a portfolio of more than 300,000 products enabling scientific discovery. Udit Batra is the global chief executive officer of MilliporeSigma.

Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany completed its $17 billion acquisition of Sigma-Aldrich in November 2015, creating a leader in the $125 billion global life science industry.

Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany is a leading company for innovative and top-quality high-tech products in healthcare, life science and performance materials. The company has five businesses – Biopharmaceuticals, Consumer Health, Allergopharma, Life Science and Performance Materials – and generated sales of €15.3 billion in 2017. Around 53,000 employees work in 66 countries to improve the quality of life for patients, to foster the success of customers and to help meet global challenges.

Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany is the world’s oldest pharmaceutical and chemical company – since 1668, the company has stood for innovation, business success and responsible entrepreneurship. Holding an approximately 70 percent interest, the founding family remains the majority owner of the company to this day. The company holds the global rights to the name and the trademark “Merck” internationally except for the United States and Canada, where the company operates as EMD Serono, MilliporeSigma and EMD Performance Materials.

Related News

  1. Press Releases

    Michael Kleinemeier Chairman of our Supervisory Board until the 2024 AGM

    Our Supervisory Board has elected Michael Kleinemeier (66) as its Chairman. He was Member of the SAP SE Executive Board from 2015 to 2020.