ACS Award in Inorganic Chemistry

In cooperation with the American Chemical Society, scientists are honored for outstanding work in inorganic chemistry.

About the Award

Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany recognizes and encourages fundamental and prominent research in the field of inorganic chemistry with the annually presented ACS Award in Inorganic Chemistry. It is awarded based on outstanding research in the preparation, properties, reactions, or structure of inorganic substances. The recipients are honored at the national award banquet in conjunction with the ACS National Meeting.

Established in 1960, MilliporeSigma (formerly known as Aldrich Chemical Company) assumed sponsorship for the award in 1998. Today, MilliporeSigma (a business of Merck Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany) is an active silver sponsor due to Sigma Aldrich’s longstanding initiative and commitment to advancement in chemistry and its continuous support of the scientific community.

This award is an early recognition for the best chemists in the world, testified by the fact that several past laureates went on to receive a Nobel prize. Examples include 1996 awardee Richard R. Schrock (MIT, Cambridge; Nobel prize in 2005), who received the Nobel prize "for the development of the metathesis method in organic synthesis" and 1981 awardee Henry Taube (Stanford University; Nobel prize in 1983), who received the Nobel prize "for his work on the mechanisms of electron transfer reactions."

This Year's Awardee

In 2018, James M. Mayer from Yale University received the ACS Award in Inorganic Chemistry. He was awarded for “explaining and applying the principles of proton-coupled electron transfer reactions in catalysis and bioinorganic chemistry.”

Mayer started his academic education in Harvard and received a PhD from the California Institute of Technology in 1982. 

List of Awardees

2018 James M. Mayer, Yale University, New Haven
2017 Lawrence Que, Jr., University of Minnesota, Minneapolis and Saint Paul
2016 Mercouri G. Kanatzidis, Northwestern University, Evanston
2015 John T. Groves, Princeton University, Princeton
2014 Guy Bertrand, University of California, San Diego
2013 Daniel L. DuBois, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland
2012 Clifford P. Kubiak, University of California, San Diego
2011 Robert J. Cava, Princeton University, Princeton
2010 Donald J. Darensbourg, Texas A&M University, College Station
2009 Daniel G. Nocera, Harvard University, Cambridge
2008 Kenneth N. Raymond, University of California, Berkeley
2007 Sheldon G. Shore, Ohio State University, Columbus

2006 Karl E. Wieghardt, Max-Planck-Institut, Mülheim an der Ruhr
2005 William J. Evans, University of California, Irvine

2004 Herbert W. Roesky, Georg-August-Universität, Göttingen
2003 Karl O. Christe, University of Southern California, Los Angeles
2002 Thomas B. Rauchfuss, University of Illinois
2001 Edward I. Solomon, Stanford University, Stanford
2000 Edward I. Stiefel, Princeton University, Princeton
1999 Richard D. Adams, University of South Carolina, Columbia
1998 Brice Bosnich, University of Chicago, Chicago
1997 James L. Dye, Michigan State University, East Lansing
1996 Richard R. Schrock, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge
1995 Guido Pez, Air Products and Chemicals, Allentown
1994 Tobin J. Marks, Northwestern University, Evanston
1993 Gregory J. Kubas, Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos
1992 Walter G. Klemperer, University of Illinois
1991 R. Bruce King, University of Georgia, Athens
1990 Thomas J. Meyer, University of North Carolina
1989 Malcolm H. Chisholm, Indiana University, Bloomington
1988 Mark S. Wrighton, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge
1987 Stephen J. Lippard, Columbia University, New York City
1986 John D. Corbett, Iowa State University, Ames
1985 F. G. A. Stone, University of Bristol, Bristol
1984 Malcolm L. H. Green, University of Oxford, Oxford
1983 George W. Parshall, DuPont
1982 Roald Hoffmann, Cornell University, Ithaca
1981 Henry Taube, Stanford University, Stanford
1980 Alan M. Sargeson, Australian National University, Canberra
1979 James A. Ibers, Northwestern University, Evanston
1978 Harry B. Gray, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena
1976 Richard H. Holm, Harvard University, Cambridge
1975 James P. Collman, Stanford University, Stanford
1974 Lawrence F. Dahl, University of Wisconsin–Madison, Madison
1973 M. Frederick Hawthorne, University of California, Los Angeles
1972 Theodore L. Brown, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana and Champaign
1971 Jack Lewis, University of Cambridge, Cambridge
1970 Neil Bartlett, University of California, Berkeley
1969 Russell S. Drago, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana and Champaign
1968 Jack Halpern, Universität Chicago, Chicago
1967 John L. Margrave, Rice University, Houston
1966 Geoffrey Wilkinson, Imperial College, London
1965 Earl L. Muetterties, DuPont
1964 Fred Basolo, Northwestern University, Evanston
1963 Daryle H. Busch, University of Kansas, Lawrence
1962 F. Albert Cotton, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge

Key Facts

The award is administered by the American Chemical Society. For details regarding the eligibility criteria and the nomination rules and guidelines, see here.

  • Award: USD 5,000
  • Cycle: Annual
  • Nomination deadline (via ACS): November 1
  • Award ceremony: The recipients are honored at the national award banquet in conjunction with the ACS National Meeting.

Prof. Dr. Klaus Griesar

Head of Science Relations


You have accessed, but for users from your part of the world, we originally designed the following web presence

Let's go

Share Disclaimer

By sharing this content, you are consenting to share your data to this social media provider. More information are available in our Privacy Statement